U.S. Labor Department Releases New Internship Rules

This week the U.S. Department of Labor released a statement regarding unpaid internships clarifying employers’ and colleges’ roles under federal law.

This fact sheet provides general information to help determine whether interns must be paid the minimum wage and overtime under the Fair Labor Standards Act for the services that they provide to “for-profit” private sector employers.

The document applies a six-part test derived from the 1947 Supreme Court decision, Wallington v. Portland Terminal Co., 330 U.S. 148, which involved railroad-company trainees and whether they were considered “employees” within the meaning of the FLSA during the mandatory training period and thus eligible for compensation.

For interns to work for private companies without compensation their positions must meet the following six criteria.

1. The internship, even though it includes actual operation of the facilities of the employer, is similar to training which would be given in an educational environment;
2. The internship experience is for the benefit of the intern.
3. The intern does not displace regular employees, but works under close supervision of existing staff.
4. The employer derives no immediate advantage from the activities of the intern and may actually be impeded by his/her presence.
5. The intern is not necessarily entitled to a job at the end of the internship
6. The employer and the intern understand that the intern is not entitled to wages for the time spent in the internship.

Check out the DOL’s Wage and Hour Division website for further info.

14 Responses to U.S. Labor Department Releases New Internship Rules

  1. att systems says:

    Thanks for every other informative website. Where else could I get that type of
    info written in such a perfect manner? I’ve a undertaking that I’m just now running on, and I’ve been at the glance out for such information.

  2. assedic says:

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after looking at some of the posts I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it
    and checking back frequently!

  3. Currently it seems like Expression Engine is the best blogging platform available right now.

    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

  4. Hello! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out
    and say I truly enjoy reading your posts. Can you recommend any other
    blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?
    Appreciate it!

  5. Rufus says:

    Wow, fantastic weblog structure! How long have you ever been running a
    blog for? you made blogging glance easy. The overall look of your website is
    fantastic, let alone the content material!

  6. I need to to thank you for this fantastic read!! I definitely loved every bit of it.
    I have got you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post…

  7. Hi, always i used to check webpage posts here in the early hours in the break of day,
    for the reason that i love to learn more and more.

  8. Your method of describing everything in this piece of writing is really nice, all be able to
    easily understand it, Thanks a lot.

  9. Darwin says:

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new
    to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

  10. ad8989.com says:

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and
    visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your
    theme? Great work!

  11. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over
    again. Regardless, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

