Librarian of Congress Announces 2011 National Film Registry Picks

The National Film Preservation Act, originally passed in 1988, directs the Librarian of Congress to add 25 films per year that are “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant” to the National Film Registry. The films must be 10 years old and are chosen to showcase the range and diversity of American film heritage to increase awareness for its preservation.

This year’s entries include Bambi, Forrest Gump, Norma Rae and Silence of the Lambs.

Annual selections to the registry are finalized by the Librarian after reviewing hundreds of titles nominated by the public (this year 2,228 films were nominated) and conferring with Library film curators and the distinguished members of the National Film Preservation Board (NFPB).

A film is not required to be feature-length, nor is it required to have been theatrically released. The Registry contains newsreels, silent films, experimental films, short subjects, films out of copyright protection, film serials, home films, documentaries, independent films, television films, and music videos. As of the 2011 listing, there are 575 films preserved in the Registry.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: