Today is Flag Day

Resolved, that the Flag of the thirteen United States shall be thirteen stripes, alternate red and white; that the Union be thirteen stars, white on a blue field, representing a new constellation.                                               
June 14, 1777,
in Journals of the Continental Congress
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875

In 1916,  President Woodrow Wilson issued a presidential proclamation establishing June 14 as national Flag Day. In 1949, Congressional legislation designating June 14th as  National Flag Day was signed into law by President Harry Truman .  This  legislation also called upon the president to issue a flag day proclamation every year.

On June 11th, 2012 President Barack Obama issued his Flag Day presidential proclamation.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: