Bill Clinton and Oprah Winfrey Win Award

150px-PresMedalFreedomFifty years ago, President Kennedy signed an Executive Order establishing the Presidential Medal of Freedom, which is the Nation’s highest civilian honor. It recognizes those individuals who have made “an especially meritorious contribution to the security or national interests of the United States, world peace, cultural or other significant public or private endeavors”.

This year’s recipients include former Pres. Bill Clinton, women’s activist Gloria Steinem, country singer Loretta Lynn as well as media star, Oprah Winfrey. The award was posthumously awarded to former Sen. Daniel Inouye, astronaut Sally Ride, and civil rights activist Bayard Rustin.

Click here for a complete listing of the 2013 Presidential Medal of Freedom Award recipients.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: